Updated reviewing

anime reviewsChange for the better.

Some of you may have noticed I’ve been using richer content for my reviews. I try to embed a trailer of the series and some screenshots. I talk about the style of the animation, but never really showed examples. Therefore I tried to implement more media to give the reader a better sense of how the anime looks and feels.

I’ve also seen higher traffic thanks to this change. I knew Google liked images and rich media, but its really indexing my content very good. I also want to mention I got inspired by The Infinite Zenith, who goes the extra mile to always find the right images. You can read more about The Infinite Zenith in this special post.

While I’m trying to be more elaborate about visuals, the contents haven’t changed. I still try to write with a few things in mind, such as:

  • Did it refreshen its own genre?
  • How much did I enjoy the series?
  • Was there any character development?
  • Were the visuals on par with the studios abilities and the year of release?

There are many other factors that determine whether a series was good or not. I don’t want to be influenced to much by the community or hype around a certain series. It may cloud my judgment or personal experience. These are my reviews and, while there are factual matters that are equal to all viewers, it still remains a personal piece.

I hope you enjoy this updated reviewing style. If you have any feedback concerning the reviews or about this blog, you’re always free to drop them in the comments sections below.

4 thoughts on “Updated reviewing

  1. infinitezenith says:

    Content-rich posts draw the reader’s attention quickly: visuals very quickly pique one’s interest, leading them to want to learn more about that image, and that’s where the textual aspects come in. This is why your viewers and Google appreciate the increased presence of content 🙂

  2. Artemis says:

    I like the new style! I agree that it’ll probably end up drawing more traffic to your blog over time, though it’s more important that /you like how your blog looks and feels. 🙂

    As far as feedback goes, I hope you don’t mind me being really honest here. I think your blog would see even more sustained traffic, and possibly more direct likes and comments as well, if you paid a bit more attention to your English. I know you said on your About page that you’re not a native speaker, and I very much respect that things like spelling and punctuation are therefore likely to be more of a challenge – and of course, even for writers who are actually native speakers, mistakes will still creep in every now and again. That said, if you tried spending more time on reading through your content before posting, then you might be able to edit out a lot of those small mistakes. Hopefully this doesn’t come across as patronizing – I make quite a few mistakes myself when I’m first writing my drafts, and only pick them up on my second or third read-throughs.

    • ninetybeats says:

      There’s thruth in your words that bad grammar can create a negative impact on the user experience and therefore devalues the page, consequently impact traffic in a negative way. Nonetheless thank you for your feedback!

Leave a Reply

