Are you hiding your enthusiasm for anime?

anime blogThe first steps are always the hardest.

I’ve been blogging about anime for quite some time now and have read several posts, for as far as I can remember, about people who don’t necessarily talk about their hobbies explicitly with their environment. It remains a hidden fact among a pseudonym on the internet, where you can freely talk with fellow enthusiasts. Joining communities such as MaL or blogging about it yourself.

It would be unfair for me to say that I myself haven’t coped with it, cause I have. Anime and many not so main stream media are bound to be confronted with prejudice. I wasn’t always the ‘I don’t really care’ person I am today. Although, sometimes it creeps up again. Nonetheless I was really unsure about who I should talk to about my enthusiasm for anime. My friends got me introduced to the medium, but I’ve indulged myself in it and watched series that weren’t main stream anymore.

There are always shows that go main stream even among non anime fans, such as Attack on Titan, Bleach, Dragon Ball Z, One Piece and Fairy Tail. But when it comes down to series such as K-ON!, Hyouka, Love Live or Nisekoi, the number of people who share the same viewing habits in your environment, start to shrink.

Me blogging helps me to develop a sense for ‘online’ and maintaining a website, so obviously I put it on my resume since I work in an online field. No, I don’t write articles for a living. The obvious question comes up: what do write about? First I was rather evading of the question and said ‘Japanese culture’, since I’ve always had a admiration for Japan from a young age. So I technically didn’t lie! Nonetheless, it didn’t feel right. This is who I am and this is what I do with my spare time.

I learned that at university, at work and even outside there are a lot of people that share the same nerdy hobbies I do. Everybody has their quirky side, but they just need somebody that can break the ice. I believe a lot of people have something they are hesitant to share, but once the topic’s on the table everybody becomes passionate about their hobbies and interests. The moral of the story: don’t hesitate to share what you like and dislike, you might discover new friends.

If you have stories to share, don’t hesitate to drop it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

