Sunshine Award

anime blog sunshine awardNominated by Black Ragdoll at Absolutely Anime.

Beforehand I want to thank Black Ragdoll for the nomination. I do not always participate due to time constraints, nonetheless I’m honored I’m even considered.

To what degree do you separate your blog content and personal life, and why?

sunshine-award-logoThat’s a tough question. Every blog, website or channel is a reflection of one’s personality, may it be over the top, a sketch or a blog/vlog. It is ingrained with the personal beliefs and views of the content creator, and while not explicit the personal touch is present.

I’m not overly explicit on how I look, my age, my whereabouts. I think that is distracting from the content I want to create. Some followers know who I am, some real life people know about my blog, but that’s a select few. I’m not aiming to creating a vlog or lifestyle blog where a host or personality is more in place.

My posts contain my personal opinions, but I always try to be as respectful to other enthusiast concerning their favorite series or hobbies and personal beliefs.

Why do you write about anime and what’s your goal when it comes to this?

I write about anime because I like writing in general. I did gaming reviews in the past and stopped doing that after a while. But the urge to write, was strong within me. I got into anime and this seemed like the most logical step. Perhaps I’ll go back to writing about games again, but for now anime is sufficient.

If you could only watch one anime for the rest of your life, which one would it be and why?

I think I couldn’t pick one, but I guess I would pick one from my top 10. I think it would be Angel Beats, although I am doubting between Hanasaku Iroha, Anohana and Clannad. All mentioned are very engaging and in my view innovating.

Do you use MyAnimeList (or any other) to track your anime progress?

I do. It would otherwise be impossible to track what I watch. At first I used MaL kind of like a social interaction tool, but with my blog I can communicate on another level with my audience or fellow enthusiasts.

What’s your opinion on the anime industry and where it’s headed?

An opinion about the industry is difficult to formulate. I believe that everybody has a different view on the industry since they indulge in different genres within the industry, such as slice of life, drama, shounen etc. Each has another development cycle with hits or misses.

A common sound is that harem anime is becoming more and more popular, catering to the ‘lowest denominator’, which is kind of funny since most media productions try to cater to the ‘lowest denominator’ and those who are saying this lie to themselves claiming that the media they consume is of higher quality. Elitism is not something that should be practiced.

I’ve written an article where I broke down the sentiment that the anime industry is dying. I try to highlight different aspects such as decline in physical sales, rise in light novel sales and overseas popularity. Not all is lost and framing plays a big part in creating a certain sentiment.

anime blog sunshine award 1

I cannot predict where the industry is heading. Judging from the factual data I’ve come across and my own experience while writing this blog, I think the whole entertainment industry is undergoing shock therapy of some sorts. Media companies are searching for new ways to sell their products, trying to adjust their business models etc. I believe the anime industry is facing a new challenge and many once great companies will perish in the struggle to survive, but new creative studios will arise.

Do you buy anime merchandise?

I’ve bought some manga’s and light novels. I occasionally bought some art books, those vary from Disney art books to the Pixiv Almanac, but recently I didn’t really spot any art books that really stood out. I’m not really into figures or any other anime related merchandise, I like my room to be a bit organized. Less is more.

Do you think you will keep watching anime long-term or eventually grow out of it?

I’m not sure, some trends stay and some perish. Maybe I’ll decide to professionalize my blog or even start a whole new one with another topic to write about. Time is always scarce and therefore choices will be made. Maybe only watching anime remains or the frequency of watching will decline.

Official Rules of the Sunshine Award

If you have been nominated for The Sunshine Award and you choose to accept it, write a blog post about the Sunshine award in which you:

• Thank the person who nominated you.
• Answer the questions from the person who nominated you.
• Nominate a few other bloggers.
• Write the same amount of questions for the bloggers you nominated.
• Notify the bloggers on their blog.
• Put the award button on your blog.

5 questions for the nominees

1. Do you see trends in the anime blogging community? For example less or more blogs, certain topics etc.

2. How has your view on anime changed over the course of time?

3. What is your favorite type of blog? Episodic, reviews, or a mix of anime and other media?

4. How leading are opinions of others bloggers in your choice of anime or manga?

5. If you’re using MyAnimeList, what changes would you bring to the website?

I’ve selected the following blogs on activity and not all have been featured in my nominations yet.

Unotaku – lightweight content

Dang-Tran Dynasty – nice weekly recaps

Spitz’s Soapbox – mixed media blog

The G-Empire – Yuri Aficionado

Kurumi Shim – Great content and overall design

The Infinite Mirai – Way hardcore in depth analysis

15 thoughts on “Sunshine Award

  1. sindyblue10 says:

    You know how you say you buy art books? Do you mean like character art and if you can you tell me what kind/type of character art they’re like?
    Haha this question might be weird but there’s this book with 52 pages of character art I can get but I don’t know if it’s worth it because I actually have no idea how the contents look like.
    Er of course they are probably completely different but just wondering.

    • ninetybeats says:

      I’m mostly looking for art books that show the development process from start to finish. For example the Mass Effect and Last of Us art books contain early character and world design with comments of the creators. They have insights of the design process. The styles are very varied from game character design in western style to designs from the creator of Persona. If you’re not sure about the contents, just Google a preview.

      • sindyblue10 says:

        ooh ok that’s cool =D Thanks for telling me about it. You probably have heard about J Star Victory VS+? If I pre-order it I get a limited edition 80 paged compendium and I wasn’t sure if that one bonus was worth it to pre-order for because if not I’m just going to wait until the price drops when it’s out on Saturday. I probably won’t pre-order it.

  2. Pingback: Sunshine Award
    • ninetybeats says:

      I don’t play as much games as I used to. I’m curious how games such as No man’s sky and the new Need for Speed will perform. Other games I really enjoyed on the ps3 were Last of Us, Gran Turismo 6, Infamous and Burnout Paradise. There are many others I’ve played. Do you have any particular games you like?

      • Black Ragdoll says:

        I see! I haven’t really played any of those games myself. I would’ve Last of Us except I’m too scared of zombies. I know the story is good but games like that stress me out too much (‘: Personally I stick to JRPGs. Love the Final Fantasy XIII trilogy, Xenoblade Chronicles, but also Zelda and other Nintendo games every now and then. Used to play the Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm games, really enjoyed those, and you get the basic idea of the plot in a much shorter time!

Leave a Reply

