Two years of blogging

2year4Time keeps rushing by and I even can’t keep up with it.

The actual two year mark was reached the 26th of January, but nonetheless I wanted to make a dedicated post for it. To make this two year blogging review, I had to run down what I published to get a grips on what has been going on.

2year1As mentioned, I must admit I have trouble recollecting what happened in 2014 when it comes down to my blog. I’m glad that I’ve passed the 180 followers, which means a lot to me. I know it’s not the numbers that you see around with Instagram accounts passing 600k followers or Youtubers with 3 million subscribers. Nonetheless, over 180 people can fill a decent sized sports hall if you try visualize it.

In my personal life I had to get accustomed to a totally different lifestyle in which I had to make choices in which contacts to maintain, which hobbies to drop and how to organize it all. A full time job can take its toll and life has its ups and downs along the way.

Concerning my posts, I tried to remain true to my formula with seasonal posts, previews, reviews and so on. I also take an anime every now and again and link a real life experience to it, since some anime offer a window into reality of some sorts. I occasionally do some special series or posts in which I want to highlight tips to maintain or improve a blog.

I’m also very grateful for those who’ve participated in my Blogspotlight series. I wanted to do something different and engage bloggers to interact on another level with the community. I like to give my followers the opportunity to read about other bloggers and maybe interest them to move around in the anime blogging community, discovering blogs that were unknown to them.

2year2I’ve noticed that in my WordPress-feed, some players started to lessen their blog activity. Me being one of them around the end of the year. But it’s like a trend and I think that when you reach a certain age you find yourself making a choice to abandon the activities you started when time was more forgiving. The thought of quitting has of course crossed my mind during these two years and especially at the end of 2014 and beginning of 2015. Yet I enjoyed writing a lot and not being able to share my thoughts on anime with fellow enthusiasts felt like I was missing out on something.

From a career perspective(no, I am not a professional writer), WordPress taught me a lot about maintaining a community and running a sort of website. Creating content is a skill on its own and maintaining is even a greater challenge.

2year3I cannot predict the future of course. All things come to an end one day, just like people and companies don’t last forever and blogging is also one of them. I enjoy writing, but I cannot say if I’m able to maintain the same frequency as when I started this blog. I started this blog while in university and moved from school to working life which is perhaps one of the big transits you make in life.

6 thoughts on “Two years of blogging

  1. infinitezenith says:

    It’s been a while since we’ve last chatted! Reaching the two year point is no small feat: I’ve seen many blogs go under after a year or less because their authors were having difficulty coming up with good content, so congratulations on making it thus far. Your Blog Spotlight series was definitely entertaining, as were your other posts on engagement (this is something I still struggle greatly with, as no one ever seems to want to comment on my content). It’s good to hear that you’ve found an occupation, especially with the economy in this state. With that being said, having a full-time job is going to be quite unlike being a student, and additional things (rent, utilities, food, etc.) become a greater priority, so it’s likely that one’s hobbies will shift gradually towards balancing time investment and meaningfulness. Thus, as a reader, I most definitely will not begrudge you if your posting frequency declines: there’s much to do in real life, after all!

    From a personal perspective, I’m at a cusp between being a university student and being a full-fledged member of society right now, but even then, blogging is a rather time-consuming endeavour. I’m considering an indefinite vacation from blogging at some point in the not-so-distant future so I can focus entirely on finishing my thesis and applying for work, so you’re not the only one who’s in this position. For the present, though, I can (probably) afford to continue blogging, although there exists a point out there where I’m going to have to call it a day. Regardless of what the future may hold for you, I bid you the best 🙂

    • ninetybeats says:

      Thanks for your kind words. The job market still sucks, everybody that enters the job market struggles to find or maintain their job. You have to keep your eyes open so you can move towards something more steady or gives room to grow. Well as I said for my carreer this blog actually helps me to keep my skills up to date.

      I understand that not receiving the amount of comments you wish can be a let down of some sorts. Perhaps it’s an idea to experiment with shorter posts. I know you like to really go into detail, but in a world where internet audiences scan to filter out the best content, shorter posts might not be such a bad idea. It may also fit better in your schedule. There’s also a possibility that you work out so much in your posts, that people don’t feel the need to comment. You can end with a question or ask people to participate. Those are small changes that make a difference.
      I’ve scrolled on your blog a bit, I think a read more button could also trigger to open a post and other posts will be less overlooked. Plus, it will benefit overall site performance.There’s nothing wrong with expermenting with new writing styles.

  2. miharusshi says:

    Congrats on your 2-year mark!

    The transition you made in life is about to occur in my life as well, so I can relate to this because I can somehow see myself having to slow down on aniblogging.

  3. Artemis says:

    Congratulations on passing the two year mark! I think that in and of itself is definitely something to be proud of, so well done! And as long as you’re happy with what you write and you’re getting what you really want out of your blog in terms of personal satisfaction, I don’t think it matters if you have 10, 100, or 1000 subscribers. Keep it up. 🙂

    • ninetybeats says:

      I think it’s more a psycholigal boost when you write and you see your audience grow. It’s a signal people appreciate your work. And thanks for your kind words! I’l do my best.

Leave a Reply

