Preview: Hanayamata

hanaya1A series with so much colorful artwork your eyes will turn into a rainbow.

Do I love bright colors! I’ve seen some news around this show and when I looked around for some artwork, I was struck by the magical display of colors that is Hanayamata. Perhaps this will become one of the more original shows coming summer season.

Hanayamata tells the story of ordinary girl Naru Sekiya, voiced by Reina Ueda(Harmonie, Jormungand), who discovers the world of Yosakoi dance. Yosakoi is traditional Japanese dancing combined with modern music.

The theme seems original and what triggers me the most is the usage of costumes, in this case the yukata’s. The artwork with the girls in traditional clothing is super colorful and lively, reminding me of the excellent Ikoku Meiro no Croisée series. The costume design was brilliant in that series and I hope the producers of Hanayamata can manage that same high quality as well.

On the flipside, Hanayamata is produced by MadHouse, which isn’t a good sign. I don’t like their color and animation choices. The animation of Madhouse reminds me of a film grain effect which doesn’t suite many colorful visuals. The most recent series, No Game No Life, isn’t nearing its full potential considering the color scheme in the artwork. The lacking animation of MadHouse is holding the series back.

I can only hope MadHouse will do its best to make the costumes pop up out in their brightest of colors. The director is Atsuko Ishizuka who also did some work for Chiyahafuru, a show with high emphasis on traditional clothing. It would be more fortunate if P.A. Works or KyoAni would be pick this color heavy animation work. We’ll have to put our faith in the director and the studio, and hope this will become a magical, colorful and original show.

2 thoughts on “Preview: Hanayamata

  1. SkyCorps says:

    I agree with what you say about No Game No Life lacking the crispness, but I think the Blu-Ray will (should) bring out the color and depth needed to make it look really nice.

    I’ve got Hanayamata on my watch list and I’m looking forward to it as well. I guess we’ll have to wait and see how it all turns out, come this summer.

    • ninetybeats says:

      I hope they can come up with the best visuals as the theme is suitable for quality animation. No Game No Life depends heavily on the visuals and looking at the artwork the anime isn’t that convincing.

Leave a Reply

