Nisekoi: The best romance anime?

nise1Nisekoi had a very strong start, but now that the series is nearing its end, was it the best romance to date?

The answer is: No. Nisekoi had a very creative visual design at the beginning, hinting that it would be a revival of a genre just like Madoka Magica did for the magical girl genre. But while going through the episodes, Nisekoi didn’t really innovate as I hoped it would be doing.

The reason why Nisekoi lost its charm, is because of the interesting plot, which throughout the episodes became less of a factor to drive the story. The plot revolved around a lock and a key which were separated from each other and are about to be reunited after 10 years. The story is thickened with our main characters Raku and Chitoge being forced to act like they’re in a relationship to prevent an all out Yakuza war. This is an extra plot driver that becomes more relevant over time.

A various amount of girls take the stage, vaguely remembering making a promise, holding a key or whatsoever. Raku is thrown into disarray thanks to the occurring events that rapidly take place. This throws Nisekoi into the Harem genre and the romance drifting away into second place. Which is a shame as the relationship between Raku and Chitoge seems like a, while cliché, more suitable main story. The forced together couple growing towards each other feels like a more appropriate plot driver.

Nisekoi hyped me with its first episode, but wasn’t able to keep me as enthusiastic over the course of the run. There are still a few episodes left, but I highly doubt Nisekoi will make great comeback. Nisekoi is good and the execution and visual design are well above average, but it didn’t trigger me as much as Toradora or Clannad did. Share your thoughts on Nisekoi in the comment section!

12 thoughts on “Nisekoi: The best romance anime?

  1. Overlord-G says:

    This is SHAFT we’re talking about. A studio whose style, presentation and emphasis on dialogues has made me into one of its biggest fans…at one time. However, with their emphasis on producing many het-harem themed romances, with a few exceptions, it’s no surprise why they picked up Nisekoi.

    I won’t go into detail but I will say this much for Nisekoi (This is my usual response to het-harems), at least the girls are hot.

    • ninetybeats says:

      Chitoge is definitely hot xd I still think the monogatari series was overkill on the dialogue. It was a good series, but the dialogue was fast and not always as engaging. Thanks for your thoughts.

      • Overlord-G says:

        I enjoy mundane conversations that occasionally go deep. It’s what SHAFT does best. Zetsubou-sensei rocks despite romantically being another het-harem deep down.

        The Monogatari Saga is mixed for me.

        Chitoge is the main reason I’m somewhat interested in eventually in picking up Nisekoi.

  2. otakudaydreams says:

    I get what you mean. I was interested in the synopsis before watching Nisekoi, and I enjoyed episode 1 a lot, especially with SHAFT’s beautiful animation. However, I lost my interest in it over time when Nisekoi was turning more into a harem.

  3. spitzsoapbox says:

    I’ve been enjoying Nisekoi a whole lot, but I doubt many would say it’s one of the best romance series out there. I’d consider it more comedy than romance, and they do quite well with the comedy in my opinion. Even with the more recent episodes where not much is happening plot-wise, I can’t go a full episode without having a smile plastered on my face at some point.
    The presentation is what saves it, imo. Otherwise, yeah, it would come off as incredibly generic.

  4. Black Ragdoll says:

    I saw the title and I was like “hell no!” before I read the rest of the post 😛 I wish Nisekoi had remained simply a love triangle, where Raku and Chitoge’s relationship grew stronger. Or Raku and Onodera. At this point I don’t care, I just wish it hadn’t turned into a harem. I bet there’s not even going to be a final couple (as most harems I’ve seen turn out). I should’ve just dropped this show, but now that it’s so close to the end I might as well finish it. Well, it’s not bad, it’s just, as you say, “meh”.

    • ninetybeats says:

      Maybe there’ll be a sequel or something, you never know. But the yakuza plot could be explored more and the key and lock seem to have little impact on the story.

  5. Dob40BG says:

    Nisekoi is my favorite anime.I don’t really know why but it is my favorite!I arleady watched it 7 times (The 2 seasons)and all OVAs.And now i can say YES IT IS THE BEST ROMANCE ANIME #EVER4EVER

Leave a Reply

