Flashback: Clannad

cl1Clannad still remains one of my personal favorites and for me one of Kyoto Animations finest productions.

In the Flashback series I take a more lightweight approach to writing. I perhaps don’t feel like writing a dedicated review for a show or I just want to share my views on a particular series. In this post I look back at Clannad, a slice of life, supernatural high school series.

I’ve mentioned Clannad multiple times as a good starter anime or one of my personal favorites over the course of time on and outside this blog. Clannad harbors themes that can be appreciated by people unfamiliar to anime and those who are anime veterans. Both these groups get elements that are typical aspects to anime, such as over the top humor and a high school setting, but on the other hand it approaches themes such as love and loss on a more psychological level.

Clannad shows a mental and/or emotional approach to personal development. As our main character Tomoya explores what it means to love someone, he also experiences how to lose someone. This emotional development creates an emotional bond with his father, an emotional bond he had lost over the course of time.

He discover what it means to have a romantic relationship and how to interact with friends. In combination with the emotional and comical background make Clannad one of the best slice of life anime to date. Clannad pulls the viewer in and lets it go after an emotional rollercoaster with ups and downs.

2 thoughts on “Flashback: Clannad

  1. milesvibritannia says:

    Clannad’s definitely one of my favorite series, it was a powerful watch on so many levels. Clannad had a lot of great development and After Story remains one of the most emotional stories I’ve ever encountered. I’m hoping to play through the VN when I get the chance and I hope it will be as amazing as the anime adaptation was.

    • ninetybeats says:

      Clannad is still holding strong with its story and visuals. After Story was a remarkable and emotional sequel to Clannad. I highly doubt I will ever play the visual novel.

Leave a Reply

