Blogspotlight: Quizoxy

quiz4Quizoxy takes the stage in the second blogspotlight of 2014.

Question 1: Could you tell the readers a bit about your blog? What can we find on your blog?

“Quizoxy started off as my personal interest blog back in 2011. Being a enthusiast of the Japan culture and development, I am always looking out for news and updates right from within Japan. Back then the blog featured countless contents related to japanese arts, animation, architectures, and many interesting sees in the industry.
Over the years I tried to get a focal in my blog content, whereby I slowly find myself being more into the animation industry of Japan, starting off with several great animation film titles and TV broadcasting TV animation – or preferably known as Anime. Currently The blog offers a large range of content related to anime such as reviews and official illustrations, and media updates can be found on our slightly more interactive platform, on our Random Fantasy facebook page.”

Question 2: What made you decide to start your own blog?

“Prior to the creation of the blog, I was already a reader on the net, and being constantly exposed to different manner of informative representation. What catches my attention was the interaction between people regarding to the featured topic. A website may be a great way to exhibiting certain topic but a blog gets readers to enhance the topic with their contributions through their opinions. What I want to achieve is a little hub whereby readers of the same interest can join in and have some fun. So far, I have met so much enthusiasts over the years and we are still keeping contact through several ways, mainly through e-mails where we can express our ideas much more freely. Our facebook page message is another corner where many readers prefer.”

Question 3: How did you get in touch with anime and other Japanese media?

“Through online live telecasts and official Japan media websites I managed to get first hand content over the years. Recently I have also started subscribing to monthly magazine issues through Japan online retails which I can carry with me while out for activities. That having said, I have managed to pick up the basics of comprehending Japan language in listening, reading and writing. By referring to these sources, I can be sure that credibility of information is of a certain level and being of real time. Many readers feedback to me that they didn’t go for Japan sources as they were not familiar with the language but my reply to them will always to get them practice through such manners, being the best way to learn the language itself. I am now able to enjoy manga and novels of original Japanese context and I am certainly glad that the dependence on translation is no longer my kind of thing.”

Question 4: What is the element that you like most in anime?

“Graphics, I am really picky with this. In my opinion, the graphics play an important role to enhance the overall experience when it comes to action series, as well as scenic focused series. One of my favourite work will be 秒速5センチメートル (5 Centimeters Per Second). However, there are still series that shine without the need for graphics, and depend on just their plot, fan service or what so ever, I will still try them and occasionally I will still watch them.”

quiz2Question 5: Do you have a specific genre you love to watch?

“This got to be my favourite question as the answer is always on my mind : Sci-fi, Mecha, Action, and lastly – TIME SPACE TRAVEL. I am quite a fanatic of series that goes along that line, some of my favourite titles are Steins;Gate(シュタインズ・ゲート), 交響詩篇エウレカセブン(Psalms of Planets Eureka seveN), ブラック★ロックシューター(Black ★ Rock Shooter) just to name a few. Other than these intense genre, personally I am pretty soft towards series that incorporate friendships into their plot, such as あの日見た花の名前を僕達はまだ知らない(Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai.), ガールズ&パンツァー(GIRLS und PANZER) and probably serialised title 家庭教師ヒットマンREBORN!(Katekyou Hitman Reborn!).”

Question 6: What is your favorite series? Can you tell us what made it so special?

“I got to say my favourite series being either 2012 TV broadcast anime ブラック★ロックシューター(Black ★ Rock Shooter) or 2011 TV broadcast anime シュタインズ・ゲート(Steins;Gate). I really appreciate watching series which successfully portrays a chain of events that will bring characters to brink of destruction, overcoming struggles and getting stronger somehow. They do not really need to have a happy ending, for the process is the essence of growth. I will never forget how intense Steins;Gate was with the endless repetition of time travel, similar to those cycle of 涼宮ハルヒの憂鬱(The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya). ”

quiz5Question 7: What do you dislike in anime?

“Clichés? Probably the one thing I dislike most, right after fan service. Drama is healthy but Cliché just doesn’t work for me personally for it just feels overwhelming.”

Question 8: You write partially in English and in Japanese. What’s the reason for this?

“I have two reasons for it, first being to practice my writing skills once in awhile so as not to become rusty with it. Second being that I have much more readers from Japan, 77.7% of 961,620 readers in fact, according to the cookies cached on the blog. I wish to cater to these readers too, for many of them have been with us for quite some time and still being comfortable with Japanese language. ”

Question 9: Your blog also features Mecha figurines. Can you tell us a bit more about your figure hobby?

“As mentioned above, mecha is one of my favourite genre and what I look for are the designs and operating concept. I only started collecting mecha figures back in 2012 when my uncle gave me 8 Bandai produced figurines from the original 1985 SUNRISE TV animation series 蒼き流星SPTレイズナー (Blue Comet SPT Layzner) and my first purchase was triggered by it. My first model kit was the フルアーマーユニコーンガンダム Ver.ka (Full Armor Unicorn Gundam Ver.ka) and was my first Master Grade at the same time. Took more than a month to construct, It was the first and longest built till now.

Instead of just blindly building the model kit with the provided manuals, I am more into understanding the mechanisms the model kits employed to provide it with the ability to pose flexibly while remaining sturdy. Having over 30 Model kits of different grades, I have seen quite a great improvements in the manufacturing methods and these are what I love about mecha figurines. I am now purchasing more of exclusive mecha units for collection purposes.

Other than mecha figurines, I also collect scaled figures as well as selected nendoroids for collection purposes, with some being exclusive only. I don’t stock up a lot of them, instead I only purchase those that I really admire a lot, such as the 1/8 Scale インセイン・ブラック★ロックシューター (Insane Black★Rock Shooter).

Below are some of my figurines, while many are still on another shelf – Work in progress.”

quiz7Question 10: What does the future hold for your blog?

“That is a question I wish to answer everyday when I sit down before my desktop. I don’t really have a direction I wish the blog to travel but if something is fun and deem worthy, I’m willing to try. I am consistently changing how I do things, experimenting methods that comes to my mind. Currently I am planning to invest in equipments such as a professional camera and suitable lighting for future product reviews. If anyone is reading this and have a suggestion do drop me a mail!”

Question 11: To make this post a little more personal. Can you give us a random fact about yourself?

“I love listening to songs whenever I go, whatever I do. Anison, J-Pop, Kayoukyoku, Electronic, Rock are some common genre I listen to. Please don’t asks for playlist from me though, I’m a little private with songs I listen to. (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ ”

quiz6I want to thank Quizoxy for participating in this blogspotlight. Don’t forget to give Quizoxy a visit and check out his impressive figure collection in full detail!

4 thoughts on “Blogspotlight: Quizoxy

  1. Quizoxy says:

    Thanks for the featured post! I hope that your readers will enjoy it too! awesome to see the images addition to the post, made the post much colourful!

Leave a Reply

