Next-Gen gaming: Looking back at the previous generation

gen1The Playstation 4 and Xbox One are released, introducing a new console era. This is a suitable moment to look back at the previous one.

I’m not really a pc gamer and if a pc is already ahead of the new consoles or if it even is comparable, is not the debate I will discuss in this post. I want to look back at how I experienced the previous generation with the Playstation 3 in particular.

I am a Playstation person. I’ve owned and still own the PS One and PS2, the Playstation 3 was therefore an obvious choice. The machine that introduced me to new gaming worlds, graphics never seen before. The shiny machine took its place between other devices, and even in the beginning I played on an old school television, later on did the HDTV make its introduction at home.

The graphics were beautiful when I first hooked it up to my television, with the HDTV it even looked better than I could imagine. The moment I bought Assassin’s Creed, one of the games that triggered me to buy the next step in gaming, I entered a beautiful and huge new world. Never did I play in such a detailed world. On the Playstation 2 I played Jak 2 and 3, also with open worlds, but the world in Assassin’s Creed was more vibrant and colorful.

The open worlds defined the next step in gaming. You could roam around and do sidequests next to the main story, exploring the digital worlds even more. Not only open worlds enhanced my experience, Uncharted introduced movie like gaming. Great storytelling took the stage and I began to sympathize with the main characters.

Games such as Mass Effect 2 and The Last of Us pushed the envelope for storytelling. I was so engaged with the stories in those games. When I played Mass Effect 2, I ate my lunch during the cut scenes and ruined almost every test during the exam week. I was so immersed in the story, I had never experienced anything like that before.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare became the milestone for online gaming on consoles. It was my introduction to online gaming. Along the way I smashed controllers because of terrible connections and the likes, yet I enjoyed it. I enjoyed being able to play with people all over the world, just like writing on my blog for the world to read.

The Playstation 3, and the Xbox 360 which I didn’t own myself, were groundbreaking devices. You might wonder why I don’t mention the Wii. Well, I didn’t feel much for that device and the real gaming, give or take some exceptions, was done on the Playstation and Xbox consoles. Those devices were here for many years and it is time for a new generation to continue the legacy. I’m confident we will experience even greater, more engaging, visually groundbreaking games on the consoles that are just released.

2 thoughts on “Next-Gen gaming: Looking back at the previous generation

  1. Kai says:

    I do recommend to try out some Wii games – aside from the “multiplayer family” games, some of them are much more better then I thought – though mostly JRPGs – Pandora’s Tower, The Last Story, Xenoblade- all of these are incredibly great Wii games. Additionally, I also played Muramasa, a great 2D side-scroller action game by Vanillaware – makers of Odin Sphere and GrimGrimoire. In fact, I’m very tempted to buy Wii U just for X (an upcoming Wii U JRPG, spiritual successor of Xenoblade)

    • ninetybeats says:

      I think I’ll focus myself on the next generation to be frank:p JRPGS never really struck a chord with me. I’ve tried games like Dragon Quest, I’ve seen a lot of Final Fantasy, it still isn’t really my cup of tea. You have to love the game mechanics to appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

