Blogspotlight: Anime Anemoscope

blaa1Blogrolls can be an effective way to spread the word for your site. In the wake of generating traffic to a blog, I want to dedicate a spotlight post in which I ask the author of a blog to give his or her take on their blog. The first blog is Anime Anemoscope.

This post will be in an interview format in which the author gives a take on his or her own blog. What made him or her start up a blog and what will the future hold in store for the readers. To give it an even more personal touch, I ask the author to give a random fact about him or herself at the end.

Question 1 Could you tell the readers a bit about your blog? What can we find on your blog?

‘Well for the most part, my blog posts are reviews for any of the anime and manga that I’m watching/reading at the time. Basically just me writing my thoughts about areas such as the plot and character development of a series, and usually something else about the series I enjoyed as well. It isn’t limited strictly to anime though, as from time to time I’ll also write about other things such as video games (including visual novels) and live action movies as well. In fact, one of my latest posts is actually about a video game called Baldur’s Gate, which pretty much has nothing to do with anime at all! Most of what I write about will be related to the stuff anime fans really enjoy, but there might be some exceptions since it’s a good thing for people to try new things out and learn about something they may not be quite so familiar with.’

Question 2 What made you decide to start your own blog?

‘Interestingly enough, the thought of a blog hadn’t even crossed my mind until almost immediately before I made it. It started when I was having a talk with my mother about what I can do for my future (careerwise and whatnot) since, to be completely honest, I have almost no idea what my plans are and feel pretty lost about it. Since I really enjoy writing, eventually the idea of me starting a blog came up and I figured that maybe doing something like this could help me get a better idea of something I could do when I grow up. Perhaps I might get a job that requires my writing skills? Since I’m still relatively new to blogging I’m not sure what to expect, but I’ve been enjoying the whole blogging experience and I really wouldn’t mind writing for the rest of my life.’

Question 3 How did you get in touch with anime and other Japanese media?

‘Truth be told I’ve been surrounded by Japanese entertainment for most of my life. I happen to be Japanese American, so things of that nature were always something I’ve had an interest in. Like many others, as a child I watched things such as Pokemon and Dragon Ball Z and really enjoyed them, even before I was familiar with the term “anime.” I used to watch a lot of other shows like Inuyasha on Adult Swim and Toonami with my sister as well, but I think it was around 4th or 5th grade that I started watching and reading Naruto and that was probably my first true obsession as far as anime goes. While I don’t enjoy Naruto quite as much as I had back in those days, I still keep up with the manga and I acknowledge its importance in getting me really interested in the world of anime and manga.blaa6Question 4 What is the element that you like most in anime?

I think the thing I love most about anime is the variety it offers. Anime is truly such a wide realm, and it’s sad that people who aren’t familiar with it really don’t understand that. A lot of people probably think that anime is limited to those action-packed fighting series for kids, and while those do exist they don’t represent the entire body of anime as a whole. Anime is something that offers something for every person out there, and the wide spectrum of genres really makes for a lot of potential in the anime world. From hilarious yet emotional series like Chuunibyou to the more serious and psychological series like Evangelion, the anime world offers a lot and even though some series might feel very similar to others, I do find that there’s always something new to find in anime and that’s why I love it so much.’

Question 5 Do you have a specific genre you love to watch?

‘As far as genres go, I’d like to say that I’m open to just about every genre out there (after all, trying new things is always good) but there are some that I’ve found I lean toward a bit more. I’ve found that I enjoy quite a few mecha series, such as Code Geass, Eureka Seven, and Evangelion. Aside from the battles being pretty interesting, I find that those series don’t rely a whole lot on the characters having super powers, so they tend to feel a lot more realistic and there is usually lots of character development to be seen.

blaa2Drama is pretty universal as far as anime goes, but series like Angel Beats, Anohana, and Clannad move me like no other and are not only incredibly emotional but also have a lot of lessons about life itself and are just fantastic watches. Then there are the psychological thriller type series like Future Diary, Higurashi, and Steins;Gate with suspenseful, interesting stories that always keep me on the edge of my seat. Like I said before though, I’m willing to give just about any type of series a try, and I think it’s important for anime fans to be open-minded about other series since there are lots of unexpected surprises and hidden gems to be found just by accepting possibilities that may not seem so appealing at first.’

Question 6 What is your favorite series? Can you tell us what made it so special?

‘Well I’d say my two favorite series are 20th Century Boys (my favorite manga) and Gurren Lagann (my favorite anime). To be honest, I’d say 20th Century Boys is probably higher, but there isn’t a whole lot for me to say besides how amazing the story and character developments are so I think Gurren would be the better one for me to elaborate on. Gurren’s a very interesting case for me. It’s a story that fans love for a lot of reasons: It’s action-packed, really hot-blooded, very uplifting, and a great deal of fun in general. As true as all of that is though, there’s a bit more to it for me. I don’t want to start telling a dragged out story, so to sum it up, my grandmother’s death a few years ago was a really difficult time for me and I really didn’t have hope for much of anything when that happened.

blaa3I started watching Gurren and found I could relate to Simon in a number of ways, but above all Gurren really showed me that no matter how terrible the situation is, there’s always a way to rise above it all and to look toward the future no matter what. Gurren was definitely one of the most inspiring things I’ve ever seen, and as silly as it might sound that a Japanese cartoon changed my life, it doesn’t change just how much Gurren means to me. Am I biased? Definitely, but that’s how everyone is, and rewatching Gurren 3 years later I found I still enjoyed it just as much as I had before, so it’s not just the emotional value the anime has to my own life. It really is a great watch, so if you haven’t watched it, I would definitely recommend giving it a try. Same with 20th Century Boys, it’s really a fantastic story!’

Question 7 What do you dislike in anime?

‘The thing about anime is that I really have to feel like the series has gone somewhere by the end of it all. By that I’m referring to either the story or the characters. A series that presents great development for its cast or a captivating and compelling story will be one I thoroughly enjoy, but on the contrary, one with a stagnant plot or characters that haven’t grown at all will most likely disappoint me. Development is huge for me, and if I feel a series doesn’t have it, I’m much less likely to enjoy it.

There is one more thing about a series I find important though: emotional value. As far as emotional value goes, I guess to some extent that does imply the “feels” you get from an emotional series like Anohana or Clannad, but more than that I’m referring to how much attachment I have for the series as a viewer. Obviously it’s great to have a fantastic story and great characters, but if there’s nothing compelling you to care about them, obviously the enjoyment won’t be as high as it could be. I know that I’ve addressed more what I DO like in an anime than what I don’t, but to be entirely honest, here’s the thing: I’m not completely sure what I “dislike” about any given series since it’s more on the basis of how much I enjoy what I see at the time, but I do know that the absence of what I really like will usually hinder my enjoyment in some form.’

Question 8 You also watch Japanese movies/dramas. What is so special about them?

‘To be honest, I haven’t actually seen a lot of live-action series as of yet, but I do have a strong interest in them. I think that live-action series are capable of telling a story in a way that anime might not be able to. In large part I can attribute this to the fact that realism is much more prevalent. With anime, it’s a lot easier to rely on being flashy and having amazing presentation to awe the viewers, but a live-action series cannot get away with doing something like that quite as easily and thus might even require a more meaningful story than an anime or manga. In any case, I wish I had a good share of live-action movies or dramas to recommend, but seeing as how I’m new to it I can’t give a whole lot. I thoroughly enjoyed the Rurouni Kenshin movie, but I never did watch the anime or read the manga so I can’t really judge how it is compared to the source material. Platina Data was an enjoyable movie as well, but last I checked it wasn’t available on the internet (both this and Kenshin I watched in a theater for a special event) so that won’t do any good.

Basically, my recommendation is that if you have an anime or manga that you really like with a live action adaptation, and it’s a series that you think might do well in this medium, do give it a try and see how it goes. You might not enjoy it as much as its source material but a new form of something you like can’t hurt.’

Question 9 What does the future hold for you blog?

‘I’m hoping to keep on writing for my blog as long as I can, it’s a great deal of fun so far and I can’t wait to see what lies ahead for it. I’ll have to consider different types of posts I can make for my blog to add a bit more variety to it, but that will certainly take some time. Anywho, I’ll be sure to write more and to explore other anime blogs to see what else I can learn from this experience, it’s amazing exchanging opinions and learning more about how others view the same hobby I love.’

Question 10 To make this post a little more personal. Can you give us a random fact about yourself?

‘I’m a huge fan of music, and I take my iPod just about everywhere I go. Truth be told, most of what I listen to at the moment is anime music, but I’m also a fan of other stuff. In particular I’m a huge fan of Vocaloids, got into them a few years ago and even though I don’t always listen to Vocaloid music frequently, I really enjoy finding a new amazing Miku song to listen to. I don’t listen to these quite as often nowadays, but I’m also a fan of alternative rock bands, such as Breaking Benjamin, Paramore, Three Days Grace, and Skillet. Er, I think that might be more than just “a random fact,” but I think stopping at “I listen to music a lot” wasn’t really adequate. After all, who doesn’t listen to music?’

blaa5Well that was all for this post. I want to thank for the author Miles vi Britannia for the time he took to participate in the first blogspotlight post. Give Miles vi Britannia on Anime Anemoscope a visit.

16 thoughts on “Blogspotlight: Anime Anemoscope

  1. skycells says:

    Holy cheese nuggets, I have the exact same taste in music as this guy. Also, I apologize for being slow in emailing you back, I’ve been really busy since university started.

      • Artemis says:

        I don’t mind being featured in a blogspotlight, but please only when you really want to. There are just way too many anime bloggers to be able to feature everyone even if you were so inclined, and there may be plenty of other blogs you’d prefer to feature in blogspotlight before mine, which is totally fine. 🙂

      • ninetybeats says:

        Well you can always stay on the sidelines if you want, there are indeed a lot of other bloggers out there. You can always leave a comment if you wish to be in a post one day:p

  2. milesvibritannia says:

    Reblogged this on Anime Anemoscope and commented:
    Well I’m a bit (er, a lot) late in getting to this, but thanks a bunch for letting me be the first person interviewed for the blog spotlight. I’m really glad to see that people responded to it well and I can’t wait to read through the responses of the next person interviewed. Hopefully the interview got people more interested in my blog, and now the people who already read what I write have a better idea about me as well. Can’t wait to see what else the blogging world has in store for me.

  3. infinitezenith says:

    I know I’m sticking around to read these interviews: community-building is essential to the blogging process itself, and I immensely enjoy seeing what makes other authors write and enjoy anime, as well as other media. It certainly gives blogging a greater meaning beyond the usual “quiet corner of the internet for me to write about” 🙂

    • ninetybeats says:

      It’s also interesting to read what made people decide to start their own blog. Plus it gives a way to interact on another level, beyond commenting. Giving the author some publicity, but also a way to make readers more familiar with the person behind the posts.

  4. Overlord-G says:

    This is a really cool idea. Although he found me first, it’s cool to meet more people this way. Miles sounds like a really cool dood and from what I’ve seen in his blog, he is.

Leave a Reply

