A slice of K-ON!

kon1Slice of life is a genre that in my view gives, as the title suggests, a glimpse in the life of others. Some can be almost utopian or some enter the realm of what we experience in our daily lives.  K-ON gives a glimpse in the life of a music club consisting of girls with a twist of comedy.

The series may not have heavy character development or action that blows you away. Despite that it gives you a take on how someone else lives their life. As all bands different tastes and personality’s come together within one group. The difficult task of the head of the band or club to guide the group into one direction that pleases all.  Of course it is bound to go wrong as even the teacher that supervises, is a slacker.  This resulting in many hilarious moments that are bound to be found in real bands. Not all times are serious, there has to be room for fun and friendship. Which is the main reason one would join a band.

Friendship and interaction is mainly the essence of your high school days. In K-ON it is of course romanticized, but one may argue that the purpose of the series is, not only to portray someone else’s life, but also a trigger to remember the good ol’ days of high school life. School life is one of the things we have in common and can relate to. That may well be the reason why many studios pick this setting and make it a big part of the storyline.

K-ON may not be the action packed series one may be looking for. As heavy character development is thrown overboard, the setting of creating a world within the familiar is a league of its own.  Many within this genre tend to move towards the boring, because of the emphasis to the normal. If a series can pull it off to give that extra twist to make the normal a thing to appreciate, it has done a good job that is worth praising.

21 thoughts on “A slice of K-ON!

  1. nyaataku says:

    Always loved Kyoto animation’s works. Great studio and the characters are so lively and full of life.
    Yay for K-On! I still have their songs stuck in my head > </

      • nyaataku says:

        Listening to them right now 😀 I love the song Ichiban no Takaramono. Wish I knew how to play them T__T The cover makers are so good!!

      • ninetybeats says:

        That song…is heartbreaking, especially the Yui-version. Brave song is nice too, practically every song is spot on. Some songs begin relaxing and build to a finally that is a little bit too much for my taste though.

      • nyaataku says:

        Yui’s version made me cry !! T_T Yes Yes, brave is also nice.
        A thing about angel beats is that they also have some of the best lyrics ever. Though I don’t particularly understand the language myself, I can feel the meaning through the character’s voice. ^ ^ Beautiful indeed.

      • nyaataku says:

        I usually get my translations from animelyrics. Either that or I just try to find a translated video version that scrolls with the scenes.
        Anime other anime MVs you recommend?? 🙂
        I can see we have the same taste in music! yay!!

      • ninetybeats says:

        Well I don’t know if all my music is in line with your taste haha. I listen to rock most of the time, artists such as RED, Dead by April and Madina Lake. But I’m into chillstep recently. But of course I listen to kpop and jpop. And I feel the need to listen to hiphop r&b every now and then:p
        Other MV’s hmm” Bleach Amv Emptiness” and “Afterlife Fountain Angel Beats”, those were one of the best around for me. There are also dedicated channels such as BestAMVsOfAllTime1, a lot of music on there. I would suggest checking it out. Hope you find it useful!

      • nyaataku says:

        RED as in “Already over” RED? I love them !! 😀
        Chillstep…I feel so outcasted….I have never heard of the genre.
        J-pop and K-pop is very popular here. I can’t think of one person who doesn’t know the name of at least one artist XD
        I been listening to alot of CN Blue and Miyavi is probably my favorite J-pop band. I’ve also been into Kyarypamyu pamyu. Her freakishness interests me >__< Mwahahaha!

        Ahhhh, i do listen to hiphop and r&b once in a while, but personally I can't get into rap….:( It's just….urghhh….I don't know how to explain it.

        I haven't listened to Bleach's emptiness, that's one thing I have to put on my to do list again ^ ^
        Ohhh!! Thank you! I'm on the way to their channel now !! XD Whooooooo~ Another linky to add to my favorites thank to you!!

      • ninetybeats says:

        The Already over RED yeah, very good.
        Outcasted isn’t a good term I believe. It’s just the variant on dubstep, but less tempo. Liquid is also a good term for it I believe. I’m not such a fan of ‘candy’ music, that is Kyarypamyu pamyu if I’m correct.
        I need to feel like a boss every now and then, hiphop helps me with that:p

      • nyaataku says:

        Ahhh! Yes!! XD
        =_= no really, with my friends as well. Whatever they’re talking about, I seem to be the only one who doesn’t understand a single thing they are discussing.

        Hmmm….sounds interesting. Are there any particular artist who are famous for it?

        Correct!! Yes, that candy girl. I always see her as a “”you either or hate her”” type artist, apparently i feel into the other category XP

        I do enjoy the beats in hip hop but listening to people swiftly talking to a simple melody like rap just doesn’t ring my bell. Well, that’s nerdy just me. @_@

      • ninetybeats says:

        Hmmm I know a great channel with a good mix.
        Channel name is: MrSuicideSheep. The mix is called: dawn an ambient mix. Really, really good. There are many other artists on his channel. Rameses B is one of my favorites, his tracks are awesome.
        Rapping is quite difficult, articulating and keeping your breath is hard to combine.

      • nyaataku says:

        I listened to BestAMVsOfAllTime1 videos, and the selection is great! They used alot of songs that I haven’t heard of before, and before I knew it, I was downloading them on my phone. XP

        Yay! More channels to discover!! > </ Give me all you've got!!

      • ninetybeats says:

        Have you checked out the Chillstep on the SuicideSheep channel already?:p
        And I’m not that familiar with dedicated amv channels haha. Good you’ve enjoyed them.

      • nyaataku says:

        I really enjoyed them! The theme sounds kinda like that of an opening to a final fantasy game, or sanctuary by utada hikaru.
        Gives you that really isolated yet still and vast feeling. I can’t explain it quite correctly but it’s a wonderful feeling.
        Me likey very much !! :DDDDD

  2. hoshiko says:

    I like the way you express your thoughts on K-ON and by extension the slice-of-life genre. It’s probably one of the first post I read that has a reasonable, positive voice in regards with the series and the genre.

Leave a Reply

